Our Participating Programs and Sponsors

Ohio University HCOM
Central Maine Medical Center Family Medicine Residency – Swift River Rural Training Track
Colorado Family Medicine Residencies
Ohio University RUSP
Cahaba Medical Care
Spokane Teaching Health Center
Family Medicine Residency of Idaho
Oregon Health & Science University-Cascades East Family Medicine Residency
Family Medicine Residency of Western Montana
Providence Oregon Family Medicine Hood River Rural Training Program
Hidalgo Medical Services Family Medicine Residency Program
Wayne County Hospital RESST Program
UND Bismarck/Center for Family Medicine-Hettinger RTT & UND Minot/Williston Medical Center-Rural Residency
Wisconsin Rural Physician Residency Assistance Program
University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson Family Medicine Residency


Registration is open for our 2024 Scholarly Intensive Seminar Series!  Click HERE for more information!


The RTT Collaborative is excited to announce that we are hiring a part-time Associate Director!

More information can be found here: Associate-Director-open-position.pdf (185.78 KB pdf) !



Featured News Story

Annual Rural Photo Contest

Posted on:

The Rural Medical Training Collaborative (formerly RTT Collaborative) invites you to participate in our annual rural photo contest.  Each year we hold a “bragging rights” competition for the shutter bugs associated with our organization to showcase their best photos that represent rural healthcare and training.  The deadline for submission is the end of April, but this year, for the first time ever, all entries that are submitted prior to the start of our annual meeting on April 10th, will be featured at the meeting and eligible to win the new “Rural Educators” award, to be selected by the attendees at the annual meeting in Asheville,
Read More

RHIhubThe nation’s rural health library

Latest News

News stories via the Rural Health Information Hub News stories of interest to rural health, with information provided via the Rural Health Information Hub

Helpful Resources

Rural resources via the Rural Health Information Hub Resources, reports, and other documents on rural health topics from a variety of sources, with information provided via the Rural Health Information Hub

  • SAMHSA's Behavioral Health Equity Fact Sheet: SAMHSA's Strategic Efforts to Advance Behavioral Health Equity
    on May 24, 2024 at 6:56 pm

    Reports on the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's health equity goals, activities, and impact. Includes coverage of programs and funding for rural substance use disorder treatment and access to behavioral health services. -- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

  • MedPAC Comment on CMS's Proposed Rule on the Payment System for Inpatient Psychiatric Facilities for FY 2025
    on May 24, 2024 at 6:33 pm

    Comment on an April 3, 2024, Federal Register proposed rule revising the Inpatient Psychiatric Facility Prospective Payment System (IPF PPS) for fiscal year 2025. Includes a discussion of rural IPF PPS payment adjustments. -- Medicare Payment Advisory Commission

  • Interconnected: Minnesota's Housing Crisis
    on May 24, 2024 at 6:24 pm

    A recorded video of a panel conversation focused on housing issues in rural and urban Minnesota. Discusses racial disparities in home ownership as well as housing and policy solutions. -- Center for Rural Policy and Development, Citizens League

  • Outbreak of Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza A(H5N1) Viruses in U.S. Dairy Cattle and Detection of Two Human Cases
    on May 24, 2024 at 6:06 pm

    Reports on monitoring of farm workers with exposure to dairy cattle or raw cow's milk infected with avian influenza A(H5N1) virus and identification of two farm workers infected with the virus, presumably through cow-to-human transmission. Describes ongoing surveillance and medical countermeasures and discusses challenges with reaching workers exposed to A(H5N1) viruses, including those located in rural areas. -- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Association Between Characteristics of Employing Healthcare Facilities and Healthcare Worker Infection Rates and Psychosocial Experiences...
    on May 24, 2024 at 5:56 pm

    Analyzes associations between healthcare facility characteristics and healthcare workers' likelihood of COVID-19 infection, access to personal protective equipment, and burnout. Utilizes April 2020-May 2022 Healthcare Worker Exposure Response and Outcomes (HERO) registry data. Covers facility characteristics including for-profit status, facility size, metropolitan or micropolitan location, and more.

  • Using mHealth to Reduce Disparities in Black Maternal Health: Perspectives from Black Rural Postpartum Mothers
    on May 24, 2024 at 5:00 pm

    Provides an overview of factors impacting Black maternal health in rural Geogia. Describes research regarding mobile health (mHealth) as a tool for advancing sexual and reproductive health outcomes. Summarizes findings from group interviews with 14 women and identifies themes related to facilitators and barriers to postpartum transitional care for rural Black women.

  • Nebraska Overdose Prevention Dashboard
    on May 24, 2024 at 3:19 pm

    Dashboard offering maps and charts related to drug overdose data and access to prevention and treatment resources in Nebraska. Includes trends over time and county-level data. -- Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

  • Veterans Affairs: Actions Needed to Improve Access to Care in the U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States
    on May 24, 2024 at 3:19 pm

    Examines how the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) estimates the population of veterans in the U.S. territories and freely associated states (FAS) to inform resource allocation and outreach needs. Describes how the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) monitors veterans' use of and access to healthcare services at VHA facilities in the U.S. territories. Discusses challenges veterans face in accessing VHA services in the U.S. territories and FAS and VA efforts to address these challenges. Offers recommendations to the VA and Department of Defense to assess the data sources in its model for estimating the veteran population and its travel benefits policies for territory veterans. -- Government Accountability Office

  • Oversight Hearing Titled, "Examining Public Safety and Justice Resources in Native Communities"
    on May 24, 2024 at 3:04 pm

    Recording of a hearing from U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs discussing federal resources for public safety in Native communities. Discusses drug-related crime, human trafficking, and violence and abuse. Includes testimony from Bryan Newland from the Department of the Interior, Patrice Kunesh from the Department of Health and Human Services, and Allison Randall from the Office of Violence Against Women. Captions included in the video player. -- Senate Committee on Indian Affairs

  • Formative Evaluation of Colorectal Cancer Screening Practices at Two Hawaiʻi Rural Community Health Centers and One Urban Hospital
    on May 24, 2024 at 1:49 pm

    Reports on colorectal cancer screening (CRCS) practices in 2 rural community health centers and 1 urban hospital in Hawaii. Covers types of intervention provided, barriers and facilitators of CRCS, and recommendations for increasing CRCS. Identifies challenges related to rural access to care. -- University of Hawaii and Mānoa Office of Public Health Studies